Golden Aphrodite TRANSThe VIP Jury 


Consists of internationally acclaimed personalities in the film industry.


The Jury aims to rating all films submitted to the Festival s sections, as well as delivering the winners of the Golden Aphrodite Prize and other special prizes.

The VIP Jury 2018

Carol Bidault

Carol Bidault – Producer



Bill Butler


 Bill Butler – Director of Photography / Cinematographer



George F. Roberson



George F. Roberson – Writer and Producer






The VIP Jury 2017

The VIP Jury for the feature films in Golden Aphrodite and Veteran categories includes Bill Butler-Director of photography (Jaws by Steven Spielberg (1975), Rocky II (1979), Rocky III (1983), Rocky IV (1985), Grease (1978 etc), Vivek Singhania-producer, Anthony Skordi- actor, Wang Jingguang- film director and George F Roberson – producer, writer.


Bill Butler






Bill Butler – Director of Photography / Cinematographer

Bill Butler’s interview for Cyprus Weekly 2017


George F Roberson










George F Roberson – PhD, Media Producer, Collaborative Media International (CMI) / USA

George F. Roberson’s interview by Paraskevi El Magoud 2017


Anthony Skordi


Anthony Skordi’s interview for Cyprus Weekly 2017


 Wang Jingguang




The VIP Jury 2015

The VIP jury encounters among other filmmakers the producers Vivek Singhania from India and George F Roberson from USA as well as the acclaimed Chinese film director Hu Xueyang.



Director, Writer, Actor / China

Xueyang Hu









George F Roberson - near to Marbella SpainGeorge F Roberson

PhD, Media Producer, Collaborative Media International (CMI) / USA

Roberson is an artist, academic and Mediterraneanist. He’s a Founding Fellow and Fulbright Scholar with the International Centre for Performance Studies (ICPS) – Tangier, Morocco. His film “Joshua Tree” (2014) was featured at Cyprus International Film Festival and International Film Festival Bratislava. His next film, currently in pre-production, is “A War Within” – one man’s struggle in the digital world, the turmoil of past, reality, fantasy. His favorite directors include Antonioni, Buñuel, de Sica, and Fellini. He splits his time between Denver, Colorado (USA), Tangier (Morocco), Mexico DF (Mexico), and Qingdoa (China).




The VIP Jury 2014

The Independent Jury in various film categories was consisted by Vivek Singhania-producer, Yiota Nikolaidou-hardware designer & musician , Maria Palmer-film critic, Natalia Dalheimer, Nicolas Nicolaou, Kyriacos Kyriacou-Imdb critic.

| A. The VIP Jury 2013


Vivek Singhania

Producer / India

Vivek Singhania is a London Business School MBA who forayed into the movie production business after spending time in the Automotive and Retail businesses. He started with Bollywood’s mammoth Hrithik Roshan-Saif Ali Khan-Esha Deol starrer NA TUM JAANO NA HUM (2002) and followed it with the cult CHURA LIYAA HAI TUMNE (2003). This was followed by two back to back blockbusters in 2007 – NAMASTEY LONDON and AAP KAA SURROOR. He decided hereafter to also produce International cinema and in 2011 coproduced the famous German film INDISCH FUR ANFANGER. He is the Producer (Acquired Footage) of CODENAME: GERONIMO in India for this film. He is coproducing THE HESTON PRINCIPLE based on the book HOW NOT TO MAKE MONEY by Raj Kundra and with the screenplay written by Dick Clement and Ian La Frenais. 8th Cyprus International Film Festival is honored by his participation in the VIP Jury.


Christos Georgiou

Director / Cyprus

Christos Georgiou was born in London U.K. in 1966. He did his basic education in Cyprus and further studies in England at the University of Warwick (Film and Literature BA Joint Hons), The Northern Film and TV School in Leeds (MA Film Production), and in Poland at The National Film TV and Theatre School in Lodz ( EU Tempus scholarship – Film Writing and Direction). He has directed, writen and produced, feature films, documentaries, commercials and TV drama series for ARTE, ZDF, Al Jazeera, the BBC, as well as several Greek TV channels. «Under the Stars» his first fiction feature film won 6 International awards including the prestigious, Prix de Montreal, (Best First Feature Film) at the Montreal International Film Festival 2001 and «Small Crime» his second fiction feature film was selected for competition at several film festivals including Palm Spring and Karlovy Vary, and was a box office hit in Germany in the summer of 2009.



Olympia Mytilineou

Director of photography / Greece

Olympia Mytilineou is director of photography, graduated from «Stavrakos Direction school». She begun her career at age 18 when teamed with director Mimi Kouyoumtzis. She has been involved for many years with advertising as well as several low budjet greek cinema productions. During her career, the awardwinning films «Strella» and «Miss Violence» are standing out.


Oliver Kyr

Director / Germany

Oliver Kyr works as an author, director and writer since1993. He devotes himself to worlds that evolve in the heads of their heroes and his stories are set on stages far from common reality.


Thomas Kindynis

Actor / Greece

Thomas Kindynes is a greek actor , director and kinesiologist .He is the founder and Artistic Director of Artistic Organization” Morphes ekphrasis “(forms of expression) .He also has taught in drama schools and continues to deliver seminars about theater education , dance therapy , study methodology and communication for teachers and actors.

The parallel program of the International Film Festival 2013 includes a Masterclass with the distinguished Greek Director of Photography Olympia Mytilineou («Strella», «Miss Violence» etc) – Monday 28th of October at 17:00, UNESCO Amphitheatre 
and a discussion panel with the jury members «European Contemporary Cinema: Strengths and Weaknesses» – Sunday 27th of October at 17:00, UNESCO Amphitheatre.

B. The Short Films Jury


University of Nicosia Youth Award in a Short Film



Irena Ioannides

Producer / Director / Writer at Atalanta Entertainment

Cypriot director, resident of Canada, she has been awarded with the GOLDEN SHEAF AWARD, as well as in the category BEST COMMUNITY CABLE SHOW for the series NEIGHBOURHOOD STORIES.





Daina Papadaki


Cypriot director, whose movies “Trapped Inside” & “Nightfall of Eden” have been distinguished worldwide in various competitions for short films.







Longinos Panagi

Writer / Director

Cypriot director, playwriter and journalist. He has directed three short films and is now preparing to present his first feature film.


C. CYPRESS Veteran’s Award

Ιn this year’s edition the CYPRESS Veteran’s Award will be handed by the three member committee of 
Cypriot journalists Marinos Nomikos(Phileleftheros), Kleanthis Kleanthous(Time Out) and Panagiotis Perifanou(Director Dromos FM, Cyprus) to the film of their choice among features screened in “Panorama” section. 
The aforementioned section includes films by directors who have already been distinguished worldwide.